Findmall.com

Beep & Dig Detecting Forum

Welcome! Log In Register
Newbie introduction
Posted by: Electricfrontporch
Date: December 14, 2016 11:47AM
Hello. New guy here. Got hooked metal detecting with a $40 detector from harbor freight. Picked up a fisher f5 and found it a little overwhelming. Thanks to a friends recommendation I now have a Tesoro compadre with the small coil. As a sound engineer I really enjoy just listening. It makes it easier somehow. When I can list things for sale I intend to sell the f5 or maybe trade for a Tesoro with a couple more knobs than the compadre. Thanks for all the good info here. Noah

Re: Newbie introduction
Posted by: D&P-OR
Date: December 14, 2016 01:53PM
Welcome to the Forum & the sport of m.d.ing Noah.------You have just joined the greatest hobby in the world---BAR NONE!-------Always cover those holes & leave the place where you detect looking as good as/or better than the way it was when you got there.-----Again, welcome aboard!--------------Del

Posted by: jld66
Date: December 14, 2016 05:54PM
I really considered the F5 for my first detector. Then just happened to stumble on a tesoro vid on youtube by 53silver. Started looking into them and went with a vaquero instead. Honestly can say, glad I did. Something to be said for straight forward, no big thrills machines.

Posted by: kozman4907
Date: December 14, 2016 08:11PM
can't go wrong with Tesoro. i love my vaquero. i love simple deep machines.

Posted by: fltacoma
Date: December 14, 2016 08:52PM
Where are you going to go metal detecting? If you plan on buying another Tesoro (with more knobs) then it is a pretty simple process of deduction. In order of pricing:

Relic Hunting: Cibola, Outlaw (8" coil), Vaquero, Outlaw (3 coil pack), Tejon.

Saltwater Hunting: all relic machines above (on dry beach sand) Sand Shark (wet sand).

Fresh Water Hunting: (all Tesoro metal detectors' coils are submersible) Tiger Shark (for fully submersible treasure seeking).