Findmall.com

Metal Detecting Forum

Welcome! Log In Register
Best detector for under $300
Posted by: will2993
Date: August 08, 2013 09:58PM
Hello newbie here looking to get a detector for under $300 and wanted some opinions on what to purchase. I will mainly be going after coins at schools, old home sites and parks. Any advice would be appreciated.

Re: Best detector for under $300
Posted by: ralph
Date: August 08, 2013 10:30PM
most all the american mfg have good starter units. I prefer whites/garrets but thats just me. Talk to a forum sponsor, the region where u will search can make a difference (ground minerals). ur personal style,(like to cover ground or search methodically) can also

mxt with 3x9 hotfoot,ace250,atpro

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/08/2013 10:34PM by ralph.

Posted by: matthias
Date: August 09, 2013 07:06AM
Hey there. IMHO a Garrett Ace 250 or a Fisher F2 would be decent. Don't forget you'll want a good pin-pointer too. Good luck and happy hunting. Matt

Posted by: Robert2300
Date: August 09, 2013 08:56AM
Go to the Teknetics Forum here and check out
the EuroTech Pro...The machine is new and in
the price range you mentioned. The machine is
getting good reviews.
Robr2300

Posted by: ohmygato
Date: August 09, 2013 10:03AM
Just turned a friend onto the Garret Ace 250 and he is quite happy with it. There are other machines out there that a lot of people like in that price range. Make sure you budget for a nice pinpointer and digger too. Those would be the Garret Propointer and the Lesche digger, respectively.

Posted by: sprchng
Date: August 09, 2013 12:45PM
Keep one eye on craigslist.
There's been a Garrett Ace 350 and pro pointer on sale here for 2 benjamins. Lot's of lightly used machines will show up before Winter.

Posted by: Rainyday101
Date: August 09, 2013 10:21PM
I would recommend the Tesor Silver uMax. About $250. Good depth. Set the disc. just before Zinc penny and dig coins all day. If you want a display I second the EuroTech Pro.