Findmall.com

Minelab X-TERRA Forum

Welcome! Log In Register
Minelab 505 vs 705
Posted by: RodgerC130
Date: November 13, 2011 01:35PM
Hello everyone, I'm new to metal detecting and looking for a new metal detector. I'm
looking at the 505/705. I did a side by side comparison on the KellyCo website and
saw that there seems to be very little difference. Since I'm starting out I'm leaning
towards the 505 but is there any real reason I should consider the 705 over the 505?
Any help/input would be appreciated. Thanks.
Rodger

Re: Minelab 505 vs 705
Posted by: Digger
Date: November 13, 2011 02:51PM
Rodger, Welcome to the X-TERRA forum.
Since Minelab added Multiple tone audio and the ability to use the 3 kHz coil, there are fewer reasons now than there were when we had the X-50 and X-70. However, there are differences. The X-705 has more "adjustment segments" for sensitivity and ground balance, allowing the user to estabilish a more precise setting for each. The 705 has 28 notch segments and the 505 has 19. That difference results in the 705 providing a more "refined" TID. The 705 offers Prospecting mode for those who might be nugget hunters. The 705 offers a backlight for those who have a hard time stopping when it gets dark. The 705 offers Auto ground balance. The 505 is manually adjusted. The 705 offers Tracking GB for those who want their detector to maintain the proper ground balance while working a site. The 705 offers Beach Tracking for those who hunt saltwater beaches. The 705 offers Tracking GB offset so you can offset the ground phase and maintain that offset "on the fly". The 705 allows the detector to establish the proper noise cancel channel Automatically. The 505 is manual. Both offer Pinpoint mode, but the 705 has the option of Sizing Pinpoint.