Findmall.com

Spectra V3 / V3i / VX3 Forum

Welcome! Log In Register
spectra v3i vs minelab
Posted by: spanishsilver
Date: December 19, 2011 10:01AM
Hi all I am looking into moving back into a Whites machine. After experiencing the horrible customer service with Minelab I am done. Basically the tech at minelab said my explorer is a paper weight and he cant get the parts to fix it (keypad no longer available). This sucks so I will be moving on to Whites after being assured that 10 yrs down the road my machine will still be serviceable. I need opinions about the v3i and its depth capabilities. Any info on the machine would be great and I do not want to bash companies just some good info about the v3i. Thanks

Re: spectra v3i vs minelab
Posted by: Ytcoinshooter
Date: December 19, 2011 10:14AM
Welcome, you will get reliable information from Rob and a few others here. I'm new to the V3i but have spent some time learning how to set it up and I can say that determining the filter / disc sense / all metal sense / rx gain in that order are the keys to the depth you seek. Determing he correct filter out of 8 choices for the site / ground you are working takes priority. Download the manual from whites. The V is only as good as the users understanding thus the number on the secondary market. I've been spending the week when time and weather allow depth testing against a Sovereign GT. Both detectors impress me. This is a small plot with iron near the test targets. You may want to check out whites own forum for additional info.
I tend to lurk and read more than post as I'm really just a "student" here, learning the V3i. Whites customer service is #1 !!!.
Good luck.
HH

Posted by: Rob (IL)
Date: December 19, 2011 11:15AM