Findmall.com

Garrett Scorpion Forum

Welcome! Log In Register
Modified Scorpion?
Posted by: warsawdaddy
Date: April 11, 2010 12:17PM
Will Garrett ever modify the battery situation on the Scorpion?I had a Scorpion and got rid of it because of the difficulty of changing batteries.This old(75) guy needs something simpliar to do.

Re: Modified Scorpion?
Posted by: Uncle Willy
Date: April 11, 2010 12:31PM
Yeah I've been after them forever to revamp and modernize the Scorpion but so far it has fallen on deaf ears. Maybe if this forum gets real popular they will get the message.

Bill

Posted by: BigCatDaddy
Date: April 11, 2010 01:17PM
It is an odd set-up, but since they used the same case from the Freedom Ace series, it made sense at the time. I agree it's time for an upgrade to something more modern looking as well as switching to perhaps AA batteries.

Posted by: Fraulein
Date: April 11, 2010 02:10PM
Hello! Although I am still new to metal detecting, I am looking for my next machine, maybe for next year. I will want a machine for gold prospecting as well as coins and relic hunting. Since I already have an ACE 250, I would like to remain with Garrett, but the idea of having to practically dismantle the entire machine to change the batteries is a major turn off for me. On top of this, this machine takes 3 X 9 volts batteries. I would rather have a machine that works with AA batteries. AA batteries are the most commonly found batteries in any stores and there are often sales on them. You can readily find AA batteries on sale. You can buy a package of 12 alkaline AA batteries for less than half the price on a single 9 volts alkaline battery.

Posted by: John-Edmonton
Date: April 11, 2010 04:57PM
I only use rechargeable 9 volts and average about 2-3 hunts per charge. Always carry a set of achalines just in case.

Difficulty changing batteriers? Heck no! My kids can do that..... :rofl:

Date: April 11, 2010 06:59PM