Findmall.com

General Interests Forum

Welcome! Log In Register
CAN YOU MAKE A LIVING Metal Detecting ????
Posted by: ferdware
Date: June 23, 2010 12:43PM
Hello again.

I am just curious. Can a person make a living from metal detecting? I am a metal fabrication artist by trade. I work for myself so there is always plenty of down time. Since I bought my V3i ALL my down time has been consumed with metal detecting. From looking for places, doing research, reading everything that I can, on this forum, and out hunting, (mainly the beach).
Now I know not to expect to get rich. Although I do hope for that huge diamond or even better a spanish reale every time I go out. But can a person make a living by metal detecting.

Does anyone have any examples or know of anyone who does ?

Could a person do it at the beach alone or would relic hunting also be advised ?

And how often do these people usually spend hunting, that you know of ?

Thankyou for your input..
FERD

Re: CAN YOU MAKE A LIVING Metal Detecting ????
Posted by: Rob (IL)
Date: June 23, 2010 12:56PM
Ha, I couldn't make a living at it, that's for sure. There are many people who make a living in the metal detecting business but not off their finds. Jimmy Sierra would be a good example. Hey there are the Meteorite Men. Rob

"Everyone has an opinion, but mine is free":devil:
"You might very well think that; I couldn't possibly comment..."

Posted by: ramases
Date: June 23, 2010 01:38PM
There are a few in the UK that I believe make a sort-of living but they have to sell pretty much everything they find. I wouldn't want to do that, would you?

Very keen to share experiences with other V3i fans - especially those in the UK.
2010 hammie count - 24: 2011 = 1

Posted by: CROCK of COINS
Date: June 23, 2010 01:51PM
I see people that can bring in about $100 Dollars a Month. Not enough to live on. A GOOD ring might help...but you can't bet on that all the time.

Jerry

Vision - V3 - 10"DD