Findmall.com

Main Comparison Detecting Forum

Welcome! Log In Register
Advice on which detector to get
Posted by: sissylala69s
Date: February 06, 2019 10:49AM
Hi
I'm new to detecting and am looking for advice about the best unit for me
I realize everyone's opinion is different but am hoping that if I tell y'all what my goals and budget are, I can finally make a decision
I have researched til I thought my head was going to explode and I'm no closer to a decision than when I started looking 2 weeks ago
1st of all, my budget is $200
I'd like something that will truly differentiate between coins, gold, bottle caps, cans, can tops, nails, screws, nuts,rebar, etc
AND that is user friendly with easily adjustable settings?
The sensitivity/all metal/disc etc settings on H.F. unit were terrible....the tones all sounded the same and it didn't ignore ANY metal
Writing this, I'm wondering if it's realistic to think I can find a user friendly, easily adjustable unit that actually differentiates between metals and doesn't take forever to learn to use for less than $200...a girl can dream right?
Thanks in advance

Re: Advice on which detector to get
Posted by: bootyhoundpa
Date: February 06, 2019 05:32PM
Ummm well , the machine that can truly differentiate all those targets hasnt been invented yet but any decent machine with practice certainly will give you a better idea of whats down there.. under $200 is your biggest obstacle, they show up every so often in used detectors forum at the bottom of the page..i would imagine anything would be better than harbor freight unit but I don't know as i havent used one.. there was an omega tecknetics that was for sale for $195 back in December, that would have a great unit for the money... perhaps a used ace 250 or simular unit would suffice till you find enough loot to trade up..good luck...

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/06/2019 05:40PM by bootyhoundpa.

Posted by: Tahts-a-dats-ago
Date: February 06, 2019 05:46PM