Findmall.com

Feedback Forum

Welcome! Log In Register
Another hype ???
Posted by: opa81
Date: March 31, 2018 03:53AM
My name is Andre and I live in The Netherlands. I have over 40 years of metaldetecting experience with several different brands of metaldetectors. After having watched about 50 videos about the new Equinox 800 I’m not really impressed. Especially about the jumping VDI numbers. Giving a totally different number in and out of the ground. I have a Minelab Sovereign myself, but there the VDI numbers do not jump as much as the Equinox seem to do.
What I think the biggest problem with these modern detectors is that they are way to much possible settings. In the (good ) old days we used detectors that you turned on set your disc and started detecting. Nowadays you have to set your frequentie, set your sweep speed, do a software upgrade, set your iron reject, set your recovery speed, choose a search mode, etc etc. I have used detectors like this myself and the problem is when you haven’t had a signal for about 10 minutes you start to doubt if your settings are right and you start making changes like for example your frequentie. That is exactly what I see in the Equinox video’s guys pushing buttons all the time, making changes every 5 minutes.

To me it looks another big hype. A great marketing campaign. Would not be surprised to see a lot of these Equinox detectors on sale the next coming months.

Minelab Souvereign GT / 15 inch WOT Coil.
Minelab Excalibur 2 / 10 inch Coil.
Garrett 400I
Garrett GTA 1000
Laser B1
C-Scope CS4PI

Youtube Channel:

http://www.diggers.world

Re: Another hype ???
Posted by: lespaul
Date: March 31, 2018 04:20AM
I too have over 40 years detecting in the USA. Throughout those years Ive used countless brands and models of some great detectors. I currently own a CTX 3030 and I have been using the Equinox 800 for about a month. I am making finds with the Equinox that Ive never dug before.