Findmall.com

Whites TDI Classroom

Welcome! Log In Register
Ok, I need some TDI classroom training........
Posted by: padiggin
Date: January 27, 2018 07:32PM
I'm new to the TDI, and today was the first decent weather day that I was able to get outside and test it out for a bit. So I chose to go back to an old homestead that I've been detecting with my MXT over the past year, made some great finds with the MXT there, old coins, sleigh bell, buttons, etc. I set my TDI SL up according to the coin hunting set up described in the field manual, GB on 2-3, conductivity HIGH, pulse setting 10, threshold slight hum, frequency 12 o'clock. I also used the 7" DF search coil. I spent about 3 hours detecting with it, and found nothing but NAILS. Now, I thought I had it set up properly in which it would ignore 90% of the junk and nails. But for some reason, no matter how much I played with the pulse setting, and the GB, it seems those nails continually gave me a nice "low" sound (like it would on a penny or quarter). I'm wondering.....did I have the settings correct, and there were just no coins around to be found and all that's left is nails.......OR, did I not set up the detector properly and screw up the settings.