Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

1914d Wheatie Found

bigfootokie

I have been detecting off and on for 44 years and have found too many Wheats to count. Finally I found a rare one and it's in pretty decent shape with good detail.

Last Monday and Tuesday I hunted 3 different trashy spots with the Deus and my finds were meager at best, or so I thought. A handfull of clad, copper memorials, a few zincolns, the usual bits of trash, and 3 Wheats. I put all the coins in a container of distilled water to loosen the dirt and left it until Wednesday evening when I had time to check dates. The last Wheat I looked at was a 1914d and I stood there thinking I had an unusual find, but I kept thinking there was no way after all these years I could have recovered a rare Penny.

I headed for my computer room to take a look at my extremely outdated coin book (2002 edition) to see what I had. This old book showed the minimum value at $80 and the highest value at $1700. I was pretty much in shock after that knowing that my find had nice detail and should fetch a higher price than $80 especially since my price book was 10 years old.