Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Civil war relics in farm fields?

JustinG.MDguy

Hi everyone,

Nice to have a Civil War forum!

I'm pretty new to relic hunting, and my question to the veterans out there is about finding CW relics in farm fields. I'm just wondering if fields near marching routes/ retreat routes might be good places to detect.

How could these relics get there? Is it efficient to hunt vast fields for the seemingly few relics they might hold?

Thanks for the time,

Justin Gaver

Justin,
Troops are on the move most of the year so following known routes is good. Now throw in a creek, spring or any source of water. Look for old period or earlier house sites for forage. Hey a big old tree in the middle of a field has made me happy many times in a long career. Go to your local library, check out old maps. Best of luck

fields are good to hunt, a lot of the old hunters would not hunt fields, it is also real easy to miss stuff in a big field, hard to hunt tight because you don't have a lot of close references

Richard