Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Authentic Silver Plated Bugle Mouthpiece?

bassooneroo

Hi all,
First things first, here's your disclaimer that I'm a newbie posting from a hotel room late at night.
Second, I come to you because I have no idea what I'm doing when it comes to Civil War artifacts.
Here's the question:
Yesterday, I bought a silver plated bugle mouthpiece from a trustworthy shop in Gettysburg that sells artifacts from the Civil War. Most of their artifacts are documented, but this mouthpiece was not and thus listed for only a couple bucks. The women who own the shop couldn't tell me where it was found or verify that it was definitely 1800s, but the man trying to sell it was an established civil war artifact collector trying to sell his Gettysburg artifacts before he dies of cancer. The women told me that his past record inidcated it was authentic, but it was also very possible that it wasn't actually 1800s or from Gettysburg.