Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

DIY Probe

dougmoore34

I found, ordered and tested my kit probe. It came as a kit from Velleman Part# K7102. Anyway I have no experience with electronics so I thought this was a bad idea. It was idiot proof. I read their .pdf file online [looked at the pictures]. Before long I was air testing my new probe. It has an LED that gets brighter as it nears metal and a buzzer that makes sound. In air tests I got 3 1/2 inches on a dime. In the dirt I got about the same. You can also adjust the sensativity by placing it at the desired range from a coin and twisting a knob. I am impressed with this experiment. I am sure that a person with a clue can easily build a quality probe, but this kit was easy enough that I could manage it...very cool indeed.
HH,
Doug in Oregon

As pathetic as it sounds I have to learn that from my wife. After that I'll take a pic with my cell phone. Would be nice for posting finds too. [pop tab collection]
HH,
Doug in Oregon