Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Explorer vs Quattro

MajaPalra

Greetings -- newbie here, turned 50 last week and have decided
to boogie-board a little less and take up something
that won't make my back muscles so sore. (I know, trading
sore back muscles for worn out knees.) I'm patient and tenacious
and think MD'ing will be fun. I've done a lot of reading
and am leaning toward buying either new/slightly used Quattro
or perhaps a used Explorer (XS/II).

My thinking is that I can find a used Explorer XS for less than
a new Quattro. I've read where the Explorer has a longer learning curve
and differing opinions whether the Explorer is a better model.

If you used both, I'd enjoy hearing your opinion as to which one
you prefer.

Thanks!

Hello,

I went down the same road as you, but I was older! I read everything I could get my "eyes on" and made the decision to go with a new Quattro. I love it. It has exceeded my expectations. If I had to purchase a "replacement" detector today, it would be the Quattro. I believe that iF I purchase a "second" detector it would be an Excalibur, since 99% of my hunting is on the beach and one day I may want to "get my legs wet.