Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

F70 and Notching....Need some help.

minnixb

I've been using the F70 for almost 2 years now and have enjoyed using it. But, I'm still learning the machine. I'm a little confused about the notch feature. My set up includes notching out iron; however, I also adjust the discrimination between 1 up to 20. Here's my question. If I notch out iron but still turn discrimination up (i.e. 15), have I indirectly notched iron back in?

minnixb said:
If I notch out iron but still turn discrimination up (i.e. 15), have I indirectly notched iron back in?

Yes, I believe you have. It's a bit confusing, for sure.

Yes.
If your disc is low, any number in the sections above it will notch that entire section out.
If your disc is high, any numbers notched in that same section or any section below will be notched in.

So, if I want to notch out iron, I need to keep the discrimination at 0 or at least keep it within the iron range? Once I increase discrimination into the foil range then I have notched iron back in?

If you overlap notch and disc, it comes back in. If you want only iron out, why not just disc it out?