Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Large deep iron objects...

gregD

I was out hunting with my Deus and i hit a nice high tone, 95 on the vdi... Not overloading, repeatable for different sides.
I am new to the Deus so i dont have a very highly trained ear yet (multi tones)...but it sounded like a good target to me.

Turned out to be a shovel head about 2feet down! I hate leaving things in the gound so i dug it all out and it was a royal pain!

Is there a way to learn how to ID objects like this vs other high tones?

What program were you using ?

12 mhz, full tones, reactivity 3, manual Gb at 90, sensitivity 90, disc at 5, iton vol 1, audio resp 3 or 4, no notch.... Think that covers it

I lift the coil off the ground if I suspect a large target like a soda can ... if you can get the coil 10" or so above the ground and still hear the target, its bigger than a coin.
On the beach, a buried beer can is not uncommon and I have gotten good signals from them a foot or more above the sand.
I pass on those .... and hope I did not leave a pirate chest behind for the next guy with a detector. :surrender: