Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

New 705----Help!

Sonora70

All,
I'm relativity new to detecting. I've been using a Tesoro Silver Umax for a few years sparingly. I just purchased a 705 with the standard coil (9", 7.5khz). I'm really having some concerns, hoping I made the right decision. I took it out a couple times this past weekend and had no luck at all. I was at an old home site in the woods with lots of iron trash and couldn't really lock onto anything past 1 to 2 inches. I then checked my machine by placing a quarter (modern 1978 model) in an open hole I had dug. Roughly 5 inches down, face up, and did not cover it. My machine did not see the coin! I did the same thing with a civil war bullet I had found before and it didn't see it either. I came home that night and did an air test. The results appeared fine as it "saw" quarters, pennies, dimes, etc out to 10 to 12 inches. Could something be wrong with my machine or is it user error?????