Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Platypus vs 12.5" EXcelerator Searchcoil or 14" EXcelerator Searchcoil

stumpr

I am new to the Quattro. In the beginning, I bought this machine for just relic hunting bad ground in Maryland and Virginia. My other two machines, a Nautilus DMC IIB and a Whites MXT both have their own special attributes depending on where I am hunting. However, the Quattro is rock steady and I feel that it could compete with my other two machines when I hunt good ground. However, I have noticed in some head-to-head testing, both the Nautilus with the 10.5" coil and the MXT with the stock 9.50" coil go deeper and discriminate better than my Quattro with the stock 10.5" FBS coil. I am considering either the Platypus, the 12.5" EXcelerator coil, or 14" EXcelerator Searchcoil as I have heard good things about these products. Any thoughts out there?

I can't offer anything on the choice of larger coils for you but you say you are new to the Quattro. It may be that as you are used to the other detectors you can get the best out of them, I would be curious to see if you still felt the same way when you are more familiar with the Quattro.
Regards
John