Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Potatoe rock question

MassSaltH2O

Greetings. I'm just getting into prospecting. In addition to gold nuggets, I look for what I call potatoe rocks.
Potatoe rocks are hot rocks, or any rock that catches my eye. I collect them and save them for further analysis at home.
I found a potatoe rock that is roundish, about the same size as a medium 'tater. Hence the name "potatoe" rock.
One can see what appears to be many gold flecks in a dark quartz on the surface of the rock.
I busted the rock into four pieces.
It has a very large light yellow quartz center.
One can see lots of what appears to be very many gold flecks thruout the entire rock.
So I did a Specific Gravity test on the smallest piece.
The results are that there is approximately 1.25 Oz. of gold in the entire rock.
My question is, what would you do at this point? How can we best recover this gold?
One idea would to hammer or otherwise crush this rock into smitherines. Then the gold would have to be panned out, I imagine.
Another idea might be to bust the rock up into small pieces and send them to a refiner, such as American Refineries.