Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Question - ATX and Bad Mineralization

Shayne

I am a military service member and I recently moved to Mainland Japan. I have been detecting for about 15 Years and owned only Minelab detectors; Explorer, Explorer XS, Explorer II, E-Trac and now the CTX3030. In Virginia, the CTX was a great land and dry sand machine, but didn't like the salt water very much. Nevertheless, I was able to make it work. Back to Japan - CTX3030 arrived a month or so ago in my household goods shipment. I shipped it in an SKB Case with custom cut foam to protect it - so I know its working properly. About a week ago, I took it out and ran down to the beach for a spin. In Auto - dry sand - my sensitivity would not go above 9 without tons of noise. In manual, I was able to squeeze out about 15. At the end of the trip, I was frustrated because the CTX3030 was not performing well at all - even considered that it may be damaged. The next day, I went to a local park on-base. The CTX performed better and found lots of coins, but again depth was limited to 3-4 inches, sensitivity was about 20-23 and and it was still a little chatty. Of particular note, I brought the Minelab Pro-find 25 pinpoin