Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Saying Aloha to the Tejon

kittlitz

My slightly-used black Tejon arrived just before our first major blast of winter, so I've been itching to use it for the past two months. A recent vacation to Honolulu gave me a chance to finally try it out.

Overall, I really like it. Gound balancing was not as hard as I'd feared, and the weight wasn't an issue. The "language" of the tone was quite similar to the Mojave's, so I didn't have trouble learning it. I set the primary discrimination to point to the "F" in "Foil", and the alt discrimination to where pull-tabs break up. I'd often use the "Tesoro roll" to get a better idea of what a target was, and found that jewelry and nickels come in pretty solid when rolling down the discrimination knob, whereas foil and iron junk would hiss, pop and crackle.

As expected, the Tejon was too unstable to use on wet salt sand, so I stuck to the dry stuff.