Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Thinking of GPX 5000 - Discrimination?

smgorsch

Greetings --

I'm new to PI technology and understand that the GPX 5000 has some limited ability to discriminate metal. I recently came into an old 300 acre farm in central Virginia but hunting is hampered by severe ground mineralization. How useful would the ML 5000 be here in searching for coins, recognizing that there's tons of ferrous junk from years of farming implements buried on the property?

thanks

stefan

I recently returned from Culpeper area with my gpx5000. I was there for Civil War relics and it hammered on 58 cal 3 ringers and buttons. I did find a 1862 IH about 10 inches down. It will work just fine on coins. Remember the GPX will error on the side of caution. If you have an iffy signal, deep, that the machine can't ID, it will ID it as non-ferrous. That way you won't loose anything good. I dug a ration can at 30+ inches.. I am no expert but I will put money you will do just fine in VA with the gpx. Good luck..

So, VT;