Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Valid depth reading on the MXT?

JohninNC

I'm new to the MXT. I was using the 6000 XL PRO which I love, but I wanted a little more depth. I got an MXT a few months ago and read the manual, the engineering report, and 'The MXT Edge' by Jeff Foster. I also looked at a number of help files that have been posted. The MXT works great and I've got several search heads and I am having a problem getting a valid depth reading. On my XL PRO if I pull the trigger on an item of coin size and it says 3 inches, then 3 inches it is. Very reliable, and I have learned to trust it when digging. ( I know larger or smaller items will be off a bit and have learned to trust that also while digging to get an idea of the size of the item I'm after whether large or small if not coin size and not at the depth indicated). I can not seem to get the same confidence with the MXT, particularly with White's standard 9.5 coil, nor with White's 6x10 Eclipse DD or White's 5.3 Eclipse. Do I have to set the gain differently and 'test' this with each coil to get a fairly accurate depth reading? Any help would be greatly appreciated. John

JohninNC said: