Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Wireless, Rechargeable, Headphones

Alan Applegate

Besides my detector hobby of long standing (since 1964), I'm an amateur radio operator, and primarily operate from my vehicle (http://www.k0bg.com). I've been handsfree for about two years, and not having a microphone and/or headset cord dangling is a godsend. In an effort to become cordless with my metal detecting, I purchased a wireless headphone setup from Radio Shack (part number 33-1253). After using it for a couple of days, I have a comment or two for those who might stumble onto the headphones.

I'm using the unit with a Garrett Ace250, which doesn't have a volume control. On some finds, the audio from the Ace is too hot, and overloads the transmitter. This causes the audio to break up (sound scratchy). I already had an external volume control (RS 42-2559), and that fixed the problem.

The other issue is the headphone design; it's a behind-the-head design with clips that fit over your ears. If you wear glasses, this fact can be bothersome after several hours of use.