Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

XP Deus in the Rocky Mountains ?

gregD

Hey all, I'm pretty new to the Deus and have been learning a lot from Andy's book while hunting here in farm-country-midwest. A friend and I are going to be taking a long weekend out west to do some hiking and camping and we were going to bring our detectors to hunt around a mining camp from the 1860-1890 period. I've never detected out there but here are my thoughts..

-It's been visited a fair bit in modern times and recent human trash is present
-it was a large mining camp, with a few dozen small buildings (remains still visible, mostly) and a post office, so i assume it had a decent population
-it has a lot of iron contamination, chunks and sheet pieces. All over.
-i assume (?) the ground mineralization is high
-I assume (?) being in the dry west with less vegitation, things dont get buried as deep as here in the midwest maybe ?

I would like to see if we can pull out some cooler older stuff (i would love a few old coins, but that might be wishful thinking) amidst all that junk.