Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Beach hunting

terrywl

I am having trouble on salt water beaches with my new E-Trac. I have just had it for two weeks so I am very new to this machine, my excuse for operator error. It does not want to settle down for me, If I swing it at any kind of sweep speed other than 1 or 2 inches /second it sounds like an Oboe. I reduced my sensitivity to 15 and that made it usable, but at what kind of depth sacrifice? In auto sen I could use it at -3, but still lots of noise. The sen bar graph said I could be as high as 20 to 25, but at those levels the woodwinds are in constant play. I have played with all the settings I can think of to no avail. It only does this in wet or even damp sand, in dry it works fine. I have Andy's book and if the answer is in there I missed it. I am also using the 15 " WOT coil. I have an Excal II so I can still hunt wet but after that 15" coil I feel like I am hunting with my pinpointer! Terry

Are you running the machine in neutral or difficult? Fast or deep on/off? Coil cover clean inside? Cable connection to box tight? Have you made any setting changes vs. factory preset?