Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Do you scrub the coil oir leave an air gap?

michaelnc

I'm new to the SE Pro and got spanked last time out. I found a silver ring, 4 wheaties and some clad but my hunting buddies found like 8 silver coins. I realize my coil didn't go over those coins but I need to know if I should leave an air gap due to field conditions and stubble. With my Fisher machines in the past I was a coil scrubber just wanted to know if I should do the same with the Minelab.

Thanks,

Shane

I keep the coil along the ground. Not pressing it into the ground but definitely not hovering. The closer the coil is to the ground, the deeper you will go. There are situations that require adaptation, i.e. stubble fields, rocky terrain and so forth.

Your speed with the Explorer will need to be slower. I went from using a CZ-6a for several years to an Explorer XS for the last 9 or so and had to consciously slow down my sweep speed. The nice thing is that despite the slower sweep speed, I found a lot more good stuff.

Good luck,

Rich (Utah)

The only time I don't scrub is over rocks and dog poop . I use coil covers all the time and I don't bang my coils into things .