Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Excal Battery Question

Tin Fin

Hello everyone,

I have been using the Sovereign GT and Excal for about six or seven months - best detectors IMHO. A couple weeks ago when I was detecting, I met someone in the field that had some questions for me. Unbeknown to me, I ended up putting the Excal into the car, without turning it off. It was a couple days before I noticed this. I'm using the NiMH battery pack, and it can be replaced - but, when I measured the Voltage of the batteries, it's down to 1 Volt. I have other batteries that I can use, that's not the problem.

When I plug the charger into the battery pack - I'm using the Powerizer, Universal Smart Ni-MH & Ni-Cd charger - the light on the charger comes on, flashes red, then green, then turns off. With other batteries, it does the same, but then the red light comes on and stays on until the battery is charged.

So, my question is; Did I over-discharge this battery pack too far to be able to salvage it? Or is there a way for me to save them? If I need to, I can replace the cells with a new set from Onlybatteries.