Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

GP 3000 issue for a newbie

jonesin9999

hello all,
I am very new to metal detecting. I just had a minelab gp3000 given to me because the previous owner got a new device and said if I got a new battery for it i could have it. I purchased a brand new battery and have been charging it for about a full day with the minelab charger. The battery is reading about 5.78 volts on my multimeter. However when I hook everything up and turn the device on it makes a quick beep in the headphones and then in about 15 seconds it makes just a continuing sound. I have tried with two seperate coils and still happens. I have adjusted every knob and switch every possibly way. Any ideas of what I could have going on here???? HELP I WANT TO GET OUT THERE!!!! I have a short audio clip of the sound but I cannot upload it here. I would be glad to email it to anyone if you would like to private message me your email address. Minelabs owners manual said that the unit would make a sound if the battery was too low, im not sure if that is what the sound i have is and the battery is just taking a while to charge since it was brand new with no charge.