Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Hunting like the old days

I am new to the Equanox 600. My problem is I am used to running a Fisher 1265. Turn up the discrimination for your hunting area and hunt. Every thing that sounds good DIG. With the 600 and 50 tones after a while my brain hurts. After even 5 tones it's just too much. What would I be missing with only 2 tones? Set it up to get nickles. Skip zinc pennys and detect Indian Head pennys. And all silver. Am I waisting my time because I have scrap books full of coins from the Fisher.

Your not going to miss anything with two tones. Your just gonna have less in your ears for different tones. You can’t tell what a target is based on the tone anyway. You just need to know that there’s a positive target there. I actually hunt my Nox close to what you’re suggesting. I have my unit set to 5 tones but I have adjusted it so that there are only three tones. Grunt, middle and high tones. You will still get all the target nuances of sounds but they will only come at you based on the tones you have set. You will be fine.
Get out there