Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Is this even possible?

I'm new to maps/mapping and using a GPS, so please bear with me....

Here's what I'd like to be able to do:

I'd like to go out with my metal detector and record some coordinates of search locations....then, I'd like a software program that will allow me to load some digital copies of topo maps into my computer & have the cursor read out it's coordinates as I move it across the displayed map. When I cross the known coordinates, I'd like to be able to place a marker on the map that will be there until I need it......OR I'd like to place the cursor on a feature on the map and similarly record it that way.....THEN, I'd like to drag the cursor from one marker to another & have the distance calculated.

I have read that some of this can be done totally on a GPS, but as a 60-something, my eyes are not that good & the screen is really small, so I'd like to go the PC route, if possible.

Can I do this?.........Any help appreciated!

Thanks, Butch

Yes very possible with google earth.
read my tutorials at the top of this forum.