Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Search-Dig sequence?

FB49

I'm still pretty new to detecting and have found a sequence for search-dig that I'd like your feed back on. I glued little flags to some 1/16 inch diameter, foot long, steel rods and when I go out detecting, I concentrate first on just detecting and I carry only my detector and the flags. When I get a good target, I mark it carefully by centering a flagged rod at the exact location of the hit, and then move on to find the next target. Sometimes I leave a disjointed trail of flags, sometimes the flags show a pattern like maybe an old sidewalk, trash dump, or a house foundation line. After I've placed 4 to 7 flags (depending on how long I expect to be there), I move into the second phase. I park my detector and strap on my web belt with the digging tool, pin pointer, etc., pick up my spade shovel and a soft kneeling pad, and head to the first flag to dig. This sequence breaks up the detecting phase and the digging phase so neither becomes boring. Do any of you use a similar method? Just curious. Thanks.