Find's Treasure Forums

Welcome to Find's Treasure Forums, Guests!

You are viewing this forums as a guest which limits you to read only status.

Only registered members may post stories, questions, classifieds, reply to other posts, contact other members using built in messaging and use many other features found on these forums.

Why not register and join us today? It's free! (We don't share your email addresses with anyone.) We keep email addresses of our users to protect them and others from bad people posting things they shouldn't.

Click here to register!

Need Support Help?

Cannot log in?, click here to have new password emailed to you

Changed email? Forgot to update your account with new email address? Need assistance with something else?, click here to go to Find's Support Form and fill out the form.

Memorable Day with Etrac

RLOH

I have been detecting for over 26 years and today, I had one of my best days variety wise. I started the day off with a deep wheatie and my second coin was a real beauty, a clear date 1928 Standing Liberty quarter. Two more wheats before a Buffalo nickel. Ten feet away, a nice mercury dime surrounded by trash. It was so trashy that I could not use the pinpoint button. I hunted this spot for another hour and found 5 more wheaties. Here is my new detecting strategy. I am rehunting the trashiest places where I have had success in the past. I am taking small areas and barely creeping the Etrac, listening for chirps and squeaks. Many of the coins I am finding can only be dug by probing with the tip of the coil. I know many people think the Etrac is too slow to hunt in trash, slow is the key. I can pick out a coin in heavy trash by going super slow. Many people find this type of detecting too boring and to be honest, I cannot do it for more than a couple of hours.